TAXI PROVENCE TOURS

 

http://www.taxi-provencetours.com/

 

Testimonials

 

Please kindly leave us your testimonial on this email address: testimonials@taxi-provencetours.com. Thank you and see you soon!!!

__________________________________________________

 

We had a wonderful tour with Sylvain. He had organised the tour for us based on a few places we wished to visit and we managed to fit a lot into our day. We would never have managed to see so much in one day on our own. The trip was relaxing, it didn't feel at all rushed and Sylvain was happy to either guide us or let us make our own way around if we wanted. He took us the the best points of interest and found quieter areas away from the coach tours. Sylvain is an excellent driver and has a very gentle manner. I would recommend him to anyone.

 

Stella T. - England - October 2015

__________________________________________________

 

We took the "Best of Provence" tour, a full day taxi tour around all of Provence. Sylvain is amazing, promptly picked us up at our hotel in a spacious, comfortable van. He's a punctual fellow. He took us took us to the most popular and interesting places including but not limited to: the Pont du Guard, Les Baux, Gordes, and Senanque Abbey. He also showed us many fantastic viewpoints and pointed out the best places for lunch and ice cream. These places were amazing never seen them all on our own. You spend a decent chunk of time everywhere to see and experience, and he is very patient. He waits for you and never presses you for time. He answered every single one of our many questions and is extremely knowledgeable about the history, giving us descriptive details about all the locations. It was great that he speaks excellent English, so there were never any issues with communication. He is courteous, welcoming, and accommodating, so nice, in fact, that we bought him lavender ice cream!

Do not hesitate to use this service; we would definitely use it again! Thanks, Sylvain!

 

Maniza D. - USA - August 2015

__________________________________________________

 

Hi Sylvain,

We had very much enjoy in this tour today on 9/7/2015. We were so happy to see all the beautiful scenes with lavender and sunflower well blooming. 

Once again, thanks for rides and brought us to such a wonderful places and we appreciate for your great service.
 
Hope I will have a chance to come to Provence again and will definitely book you as our driver again.

Warm Regards,

Adabelle L. - Malaysia - July 2015

__________________________________________________

 

Dear Sylvain and especially your charming wife Audrey.

 

Sorry for late writing but summer is always busy and especially this year.

 

Audrey, without you we wouldn’t have been able to enjoy Provence so much, despite the heat.

A big “Thank you” from both of us.

 

Kind regards

 

Bernard G. - England - June 2015

__________________________________________________

 

If you are in need of a driver/guide in the Provence area, don't hesitate to use Sylvain and Audrey's services. They are wonderful guides, very good drivers, and very helpful in arranging a personalize tour that will bring lasting memories. Thank you Sylvain and Audrey for our recent 2-day tour of Provence. Without you we would never have seen as many beautiful places on our own.

 

Harry F. - USA - May 2015

__________________________________________________

 

Dear Sylvain

 

We would like to send our thanks to you and Audrey for arranging a great trip for us.

 

Audrey did provide us a great service and she is very nice, kind and careful. We feel very lucky to be guided by her.

 

Please send our regards to Audrey and if possible, please give us her email address as we would like to her a thank you message too.

 

Cheers

 

Hien T. - Taiwan - April 2015

__________________________________________________

 

I undertook a good deal of research and we discovered the wonderful family team of Sylvain and Audrey Martinez. I booked two full day tours covering the areas of our interest. We stayed in Villeneuve-les-Avignon and went with Sylvain from our hotel on the first day and with Audrey the next. We could not have been happier. The vehicles were first class and comfortable. Audrey's and Sylvain's faultless English combined with my feeble French meant we did not miss a thing. Absolutely first-class experience. This is a real gem and a splendid way of exploring Provence. To round off our holiday we arranged for Sylvain to take us to Marseilles airport. Thank you for making our visit so memorable.

 

Hugh C. - Australia - July 2014

__________________________________________________

 

I'd done extensive research before my trip to Provence. Originally planned to hire a car for my entire stay but after seeing the narrow roads and rather complex signs opted for a tour operator. I'd listed this company as one of the choices as they had the most competitive prices. At short notice Sylvain was able to organise a full day trip to the villages of Sur Isle la Sorgue, Menerbes, Bonnieux and Oppede le Vieux on July 16. His charming wife Audrey was our driver cum guide for the day. She was very helpful, courteous and quickly understood our requirements and went out of the way to please us. She'd come along with us and explain the major sights and background of the places we were visiting. As my wife could not walk up to the difficult places, she would take the car to the highest spot and keep her company while we went further. She also gave us a bonus drive through of Lacoste. The next day we wanted to visit Pont de Gard and they structured a trip which included Uzes and Nimes. This time our guide was Sylvain who was also one of the best. Extremely cooperative and helpful. This is a small firm run by the husband and wife team and their prices are much lower than the other tour operators. Both speak excellent English and are able to customise trips as per ones tastes. We used another tour operator and did a couple of trips by bus. Would rate Audrey and Sylvain the best in Provence! Thanks Audrey and Sylvain for making our trip perfect.

 

Sathyan D. - India - July 2014

__________________________________________________

 

I found Taxi-Provence Tours and Sylvain on the intranet and organized 2 separate day tours for myself and 2 friends one leaving from Aix-en-Provence and the other from Arles in June 2014.  Sylvain was respectful, polite, punctual and a good driver. I thoroughly enjoyed both days of travel to the towns that I wanted to see and was able to relax with Sylvain making the experience an enjoyable one. Many thanks Sylvain you are a true gentleman and I would highly recommend your company to anyone contemplating a private tour in Provence. I have also recommended your company on Trip Advisor.

 

Sharon P.  - Australia - June 2014

__________________________________________________

 

I discovered this private guide company while researching our trip to Provence. I couldn't have chosen better. We had three days to visit the Luberon and Avignon and did not want to navigate the roads. Our guide met us at the train station and with a competent and very friendly manner saw to the pace and management of our days. We had a list of must sees and these visits were woven in and around the most interesting touring days. We saw so much and felt as if we missed nothing with our wonderful guide, Sylvain. I don't believe you could choose better!

 

Georganne A. - USA - June 2014

__________________________________________________

 

Dear Sylvain and Audrey,

 

I have been meaning to write and say thank you for our fabulous day out in the Luberon with Audrey, we were so happy to have seen so much.  Thanks Audrey, you made it all so easy, stress free and enjoyable.

 

I have written a review on Trip Advisor under the name of Rosebelle, hope you are happy with it.

 

Thanks again, you were both a joy to deal with and we enjoyed our day with Audrey.

 

We'll certainly use your services again.

 

Very best regards,

 

Lynda and Brian

 

Lynda and Brian K. - Australia - June 2014

__________________________________________________

 

Hello Audrey et Sylvain,

I am 2 weeks returned to Canada from my trip to Avignon and wanted to say a mighty "thank you" for the great tour!

Audrey, I have already sold many of the photos I took during our tour,especially in Saignon with the lovely yellow flowers.

The tour was exactly what I had hoped it to be. I especially appreciated the punctuality and the flexibility to get as much done as we needed to do. Superb car and driving, and I felt so comfortable during the entire day. Thank you for letting me sleep a little in the backseat after we finished!

I have mentioned your services on TripAdvisor, I hope it was ok for me to do so. Your services are now mentioned in the Avignon Things To Do (Activities) section. I have uploaded photos and they will be posted shortly (after being reviewed and approved by the TA staff).

I wish you very good business! Hope to take one of your tours again in the future!

Best Regards,

 

Sandra M. - Canada - April 2014

__________________________________________________

 

We went on three day trips with Sylvain in January 2014. He was a great host – very knowledgeable and extremely considerate and courteous. He was happy to accommodate our needs and build each day around what we wanted to do. If we could afford to go to Provence again, we would have no hesitation in contacting Sylvain again. Steve and Karen from New Zealand.

 

Karen and Steve D. - New Zealand - January 2014

__________________________________________________

 

We only had 1 day to go around Provence and didn't want to go through the hassle of hiring a car or having to drag our luggages around if we were to travel by train. I found Taxi Provence Tours on Google and the email exchanges were smooth and efficient with Sylvain. He provided many options and advice on locations and durations to fit what I want to do in Provence. His quotes are the cheapest I've seen because I've contacted a few customised day tour around the area at the same time to get the best price.

Audrey (Sylvain's wife) picked us up from the train station at the agreed time and provided commentary while we were driving around Provence. So this taxi service was more like a customised tour and not just having the taxi driver take us from point A to point B. We managed to fit in Les Baux (very beautiful place, at least 2.5 hours recommended), Saint Remy, Orange, Pont Du Gard and dropped us off at Nimes (we toured around Nimes the next day before leaving for Paris).

Overall, the tour was very enjoyable. Although it's more expensive than trains or car hire or group tours, it was more flexible and easier to go with the taxi tour given our limited time in Provence. The car we were in was very comfortable too with boot space big enough for our two large luggages. I highly recommend this company for private, customised tours.

 

Amy C. W. T. - Australia - September 2013

__________________________________________________

 

Dear Sylvain,

 

We've come back HK and are carrying on our busy life again! It's also so nice to meet you in the trip and thanks so much for arranging the tours for us. Wish you all the best thru the year!

 

Cheers,

 

Francis Y. W. K. - Hong-Kong - September 2013

__________________________________________________

 

Dear Sylvain,

 

We are back to Hong Kong and have a wonderful memory during our trip in Provence last week.

Thank you and your wife for your professional service during our travel.

We miss the stay at Provence and for sure we will visit those other villages in Provence in the future.

 

Best wishes and good health,

 

Keep in touch.

 

Heidi and William S. - Hong-Kong - September 2013

__________________________________________________

 

Dear Sylvain,

 

Just a short note to thank you for the wonderful 2 days of the tour.

We had a wonderful time . The places are so  beautiful and all were as planed.

Thank you for Audrey she is so professional .with her adjustment, we were not disturbed by the rain. We had the Lavender on the right moment and good time for photo.

 

Best regards,

 

Niramon S. - Thailand - July 2013

__________________________________________________

 

Dear Sylvain,

 

We would like to say a sincere "thank you" to you for making our tour of France so memorable.

Your knowledge is wide, and we have all appreciated the care you have taken with us.
The trip will be in our minds for a long time. Sharing our picture to you.

 

Merci

 

Three ladys in the picture from left to right is Mei-ling, Chun-feng, Yu-chi

 

Chih-li C. - Taiwan - July 2013

__________________________________________________

 

We had a full day tour with Sylvain of the hilltop villages of the Luberon.
The villages were amazing and almost free of tourists! The scenery along the drive was beautiful.
Sylvain selected a reasonable priced restaurant where locals eat and we felt like true frenchmen. The food was fresh and outstanding.
We toured a medievil monastery and walked and shopped in central Aix. We never felt rushed. Sylvain did not jabber or try to entertain us with lame jokes. He was very knowledgeable and professional. He gave us important knowledge about the history of the region.
We ended with a wine tasting at a small family winery. We bought a few bottles to bring aboard the cruiseship ; )
We are returning to Marseille next year and will definitely tour with Sylvain again!
His full day prices are very reasonable too.

 

Christine B. - USA - April 2012

__________________________________________________

 

We used Taxi Provence Tours for a customised tour.
We needed to go from Avignon to Aix and do the Lavender tour. Sylvain from TPP was very helpful in helping us combine the two.
We left Avignon at 1 and traveled to Gorde, Senanque Abbey, Bories, Roussillon on our way to Aix.
At every spot the driver gave us a brief background, stopped long enough for photographs and for us to wander. Along the way we stopped where we thought we had a good photo opp too.
The plan was to reach us to Aix by 6. But because of the frequent stops we reached well past 7.
Not a complaint or moan from the man.
We thought is was probably the best way for us to experience the area and the transfer.
A big vehicle for just the 3 of us and our baggage.
Must try!!

 

Harish V. - India - June 2011

__________________________________________________

 

Aux bons soins de Monsieur
Sylvain M. chez Taxi du Gard Provençal (TAXI PROVENCE TOURS)

 

Cher Monsieur,

Je tiens à vous remercier des attentions très délicates que vous
vous êtes données pour me guider en Provence. Sans votre aimable
assitance, je n’aurais pu ni connaître un peu la nature de la
Provence: montagnes rocheuses, terre ocre, mistral…, ni me faire une
idée nette qu’il n’existe aucune abbaye (=culture) isolée de la nature
de son pays. En un mot Je suis tout à fait contente des deux jours de
circui et heureuse d'avoir pu enfin visiter la Provence merveilleuse.

Je ferme les yeux et défilent devant moi de petits villages du
Lubéron, L’abbaye de Senanques, Sylvacane et la petite lumière dans
l’ombre du Thoronet, qui m’invitent au voyage prochain et irrésistible…

Quant au Thoronet, permettez-moi de vous mentionner les deux
artistes japonais. L’un est architecte Arata ISOZAKI (né en 1931) et
l’autre photogtaphe Kishin SHINOYAMA(né en 1940). Ces célèbres
artistes, que vous pourriez rechercher avec Yahoo ou Google, ont
coopéré d’un livre sur le Thoronet
 en 2004. Mais bien que l’on en ait
parlé beaucoup en ce temps-là au Japon, il n’est pas encore traduit en
français.

Pour terminer ce trop brèf E-mail pour vous remercier, je vous
annonce que j’ai offert l’adresse de votre site en français et japonais
attachée à une boîte de calissons (extra!) à une de mes amies. Elle en
utilisera beaucoup mieux que moi, en travaillant dans une grande
agence de voyage qui s’appelle HIS.
En vous remerciant encore, je vous prie de croire, cher Monsieur, à
l’expression de mes remerciments bien reconnaissaints .

 

Junko T. - Japan - March 2010

__________________________________________________

 

Last month my family and I visited Provence and we stayed in the wonderful town of Arles. In planning the trip we knew we wanted to visit some of the nearby sites such as the Pont du Gard and Uzès but we didn't want to deal with the hassle of driving. In my search for tour companies I found that many were based out of Avignon but we kept looking until we found one that would pick us up and drop us off at our hotel in Arles, and also offered an itinerary that sounded appealing. Well really the latter wasn't the problem, all of the itineraries of all of the companies sounded appealing! So much to do and see in that part of France, it's hard to narrow it down and just choose one itinerary. (Plenty of reasons to go back in the future though, that's for sure.)

Okay so my search led us to the Taxi du Gard Provençal website: http://www.taxi-provencetours.com/ which looked like it had what we were after. I sent an e-mail to them and promptly heard back from the owner Sylvain (I believe he owns the company with his wife, but we did not meet her as he ended up being our driver for the day). His message outlined a few variations on the itinerary for the day from which we could choose and he made sure to let us know it could be tailored in any way to fit our needs. His English was great and his attention to detail seemed to be meticulous, based on his e-mail. This scored big points with me right off the bat, and my assessment would later prove correct as Sylvain was the absolute perfect guide!

We decided to choose a tour that included the Pont du Gard, Uzès and Nîmes. Also, even though I don't know much about wine, I had recently developed an affinity for a rosé that I had been drinking all summer and had realized that the château where it is produced - Château de Campuget - is in Manduel, only 15 kms from Nîmes! So I asked Sylvain to take us there for a quick look around at the end of the day we had scheduled. I didn't really know what to expect, I've never even been to a wine tasting here in the US! But mainly I just wanted to see the rocky soil and smell the air and look at the pretty chateau, and well, just be there! And so with that our day was arranged, and Sylvain promply confirmed. We paid for half the tour in advance and arranged to pay the rest on tour day.

When the day arrived Sylvain showed up at exactly 9 o'clock as scheduled. Throughout the whole day he was courteous, thoughtful and professional. He was a calm and quiet presence and a very good driver. He took us exactly where we wanted to go and stopped off at sunflower fields for us to snap a few photos, and any time we asked a question about something we passed he offered to stop if we wanted to get a better look. Also it was a swelteringly hot day, upper 90s, but his air conditioning in his spotlessly clean car worked wonders. This was crucial. Standing by the side of the road waiting for a bus to Pont du Gard in almost 100 degree weather would not have went well for my family, my husband is not good in the heat, and we knew we had made the right choice.

We got to the Pont du Gard first, before most of the crowds arrived. Afterward we visited pretty little Uzès, where we had lunch, wandered the streets and climbed the tower of the Duchy d'Uzès. By the time Sylvain took us to Nîmes we were getting a bit worn down by the heat and this is where having him really was a life saver. We started by viewing the Roman distribution tank for the water arriving via the Pont du Gard, then drove to the Maison Carrée and followed with the Arènes, but we were really dragging by now, the heat was oppressive. Having a driver with a nice air conditioned car who could drive us right up to all of the main sites was amazing! We then drove right up to the entrance of the Jardin de la Fontaine, where we tried to get ice cream but it melted so fast it was more like ice cream soup! And we then finished our tour of the city by winding up to the Tour Magne at the top of a big hill. Really if we had tried to do Nîmes on our own on such a day I don't think we would have gotten as far, nor would it have been nearly as enjoyable. I KNOW we would not have climbed up to the Tour Magne, that's for sure!

So back toward Arles, with the Château de Campuget the only thing left on our list. I was becoming a bit worried; my husband and son were definitely ready for the pool at our hotel, they don't drink even wine, I don't know what I'm doing at a winery...especially a French one! I am in over my head! What was I thinking!?! Would it be snooty? Would I make an ass out of myself? Okay, now we're there!

We get out of the car and go in. They advertise a free dégustation so I'm thinking I'll just have a sip or two, take a quick look around, buy a few bottles and let my family off the hook. But Sylvain is speaking to the man behind the counter in French, they have lost me as my French is rudimentary, I'm not sure what's happening, oh, I guess we're waiting for the owner to arrive? What? The owner of the whole operation? Oui! Apparently Sylvain, bless his heart, has arranged it so the owner would give us a private tour of the estate. And so he does!

Monsieur Franck-lin Dalle himself (apparently named after our esteemed Benjamin Franklin, according to an article I have since read) drove us around the vines giving us a personal tour of his operation that’s been in his family since 1941. This was the exact opposite of snooty, the guy was young and a bit crazy and super cool. It was amazing. We had to run to keep up with him. I guess the story is that his grandfather, who made beer in the north, got shot in the eye in WWII so his doctors advised him to go south for the more favorable climate and less pain for his wound. So in 1941 the grandfather bought the 17th century chateau and vineyards and began making wine with the war raging throughout France. He passed the estate down to his son, who passed it down to his. Anyway Franck-lin took us out and showed us how they grow the vines, which ones were planted when and with which types of grapes, then he took us through the whole bottling process and showed me which bottles were on their way to the west coast of the US! Very cool. Vive Le Campuget!

And what a magical end to a really amazing day. Out of all of the memorable things we did and saw in Provence (and there were many), I think that's the day that will stand out in all of our memories when we think back to our summer trip to southern France. Merci Beaucoup Sylvain and Taxi du Gard Provençal! We can't wait to return to that beautiful part of the world and hire Sylvain for another adventure.

 

Jerrie B. - USA - August 2010

__________________________________________________

 

Bonjour!

 

Thank you for driving in Provence two weeks ago.

We came back to Tokyo and are working busily.

Provence was very nice area and your car was very comfortable.

When I go to Provence again, I will ask you.

 

I send a picture.

 

Best Regards,

 

Sachiko N. and Rie F. - Japan - August 2009

__________________________________________________